The Blog Lagoon’s 31 Days of Halloween – Day 19: “Screamin’ & Dyin’: The Gill Man’s Halloween Party Mix Vol.2

Screamin' & Dyin'As promised, here’s the second volume of my Halloween mix. I think I like this one even better than the first. My original plan was to have the one Halloween music collection that did NOT  include the “Monster Mash.” But it’s sorta’ the “Rudolph” of Halloween, so it seems wrong to leave it out. Instead of including the same old version by Bobby “Boris” Pickett and the Crypt Kickers you’re already familiar with, I searched for a different version. I know that Boris Karloff actually performed the “Monster Mash” on the 60s dance show, Shindig, but there are no clips with adequate sound quality, and honestly, poor ol’ Boris seemed to struggle with the tune. However, Vincent Price did lots of singing in his long career, and the “Mash” is among many of his existing recordings. It’s a hoot too. Just listen to his diction on his first, “they did the mon-ster mash.” And for good measure, there’s a rare non-“Mash” recording by Pickett and the Crypt Kickers: a rehash of the Mash, called “The Monster Swim.”  The zip file I’m uploading includes cover art and, unlike the first mix, a track list. I’ll go back and add one to the first mix when I get the chance. I’ve been up to my chin in freelance work and am way behind on my posts but I’ll back date a few posts throughout the week to catch up.

DOWNLOAD “SCREAMIN’ AND DYIN’: THE GILL MAN’S HALLOWEEN PARTY MIX VOL. 2” (MEGAUPLOAD)

Click on the image for the track list:
Screamin' & Dyin' (Track List)

~ by Number5ive on October 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
